Living with hypothyroid…

So I used to think my fatigue and moodiness could all be blamed on OT school, nevertheless, my recent weight gain. You see my whole life I’ve always been skinny, without requiring any special diets or exercise to maintain my weight. There were some points growing up I might have even been a little too skinny as I went through puberty. Let’s get something straight an entry-level MS in OT is not your average master’s degree and it’s definitely no walk in the park. I was in a 3 year program taking 84 credits and working at the same time, so I really didn’t have much time for exercise or cooking or eating healthy other than what I could pick up at my local Quick Chek on my way to work. I gained approximately 40 lbs over the last 3 years. I believed it was because of this self-sacrificing lifestyle I was living to finish my education.

I went to my physician 4 months ago to get a physical for my last Level II. I was annoyed because I had already had a physical a few months prior which was supposed to be valid for 1 year, but this site required a doctor’s note of good health. My doctor did a routine physical and started palpating my neck. He asked if thyroid problems run in my family. I know my mom has been taking hormones for her thyroid for several years now, but I never thought it would affect me now in my late 20’s. They did bloodwork that day and a few weeks later I found out my thyroid was not producing adequate hormones. Oh joy. Now I’m going to be stuck on medication the rest of my life. After my diagnosis and a new prescription in hand I decided to look up the symptoms of hypothyroid:

  • Fatigue
  • Weakness
  • Weight gain or increased difficulty losing weight
  • Coarse, dry hair
  • Dry, rough pale skin
  • Hair loss
  • Cold intolerance (you can’t tolerate cold temperatures like those around you)
  • Muscle cramps and frequent muscle aches
  • Constipation
  • Depression
  • Irritability
  • Memory loss
  • Abnormal menstrual cycles
  • Decreased libido

I highlighted several of the symptoms that definitely applied to me. At least now I know the reason I don’t feel like myself, but I can’t blame OT school anymore, hehe. I’m graduated now.

I’ll be honest, I haven’t really been keeping up with my medication or weight loss. But I’m making the commitment now. No more excuses, I hate exercise but I’m going to make it more of a priority. I love food, but I’m going to limit myself on what I eat. In fact, today after work I’m going to join the dreaded gym near my house. I even have an app for keeping track of what you eat throughout the day. I called my doctor today to refill my prescription and schedule bloodwork to help monitor my dosage, which I’ve put off for several weeks. I want to live a long healthy life. I want to feel and look my best. One of the tough things about hypothyroid apparently is the difficulty in losing weight. I’m going to try and do my best to feel better about myself and manage this.

Leave a Reply

