What’s this whole Paleo thing?

In doing research for hypothyroid, I’ve found a lot of recommendations regarding the Paleo diet and autoimmune diseases. I first heard about Paleo a few years ago, and I’ll be honest, I thought it was kind of gimmicky. But in the last few months I’ve been doing some more research on it and it…kind…of…makes…sense. It basically restricts you from eating anything heavily processed, cutting out gluten and dairy and reverting back to more whole foods with lots of vegetables and organic meat (thank god for meat), fruit, and nuts/seeds. I’ve been cooking a few recipes using these guidelines and it’s not that hard. It takes more prep work and actual cooking, which I guess I’ll have to get used to, but I kind of like it.

My moodiness has been really bad as of late. I find myself feeling extremely anxious and depressed. I attribute some of that to my upcoming board exam, but I also attribute a lot of it probably hormonal imbalance. I also feel bad about all my weight gain in the past few years. I’ve been jogging a few times a week and have been eating healthier lately, but there’s still more work to be done. I cut out all soda and  and processed food (anything in packages or fast food) and I’ve also stopped eating gluten for the most part (all bread and rice products), but of course there’s still occasions where I have been eating some. I’ve started to feel better. I find myself feeling full without feeling bloated or “fat”, and foods don’t feel greasy when they’re not processed or gluteny.

But I still want more. I want to lose weight but I want to do it the right way, no fad diets or unhealthy methods. So I decided to try a Whole30 cleanse beginning next week. I plan to be 100% dedicated to this for 30 days and also incorporate more exercise. I’m hoping it will start to make me feel even better than when I started. It’s going to take a lot of prep work and dedication but I’m up for it. My long-distance BFF is even joining in with me. I plan to use this blog as a journal to record my progress and feelings. I am hoping for some good outcomes.

In other news, my NBCOT exam is less than a week away. More on that gem after I (hopefully with fingers doubled crossed) pass. 🙂

Leave a Reply

